Hawley-Jarvis Award

The 2017 IBSC Hawley-Jarvis Award will be presented at the 2017 IBSC Annual Conference in Baltimore, Maryland, United State hosted by The Boys' Latin School of Maryland.

Submit a Nomination

Submit your nomination by Friday, 31 March 2017.

History of the IBSC Hawley-Jarvis Award

In 1995, Dr. Richard Hawley and Reverend Tony Jarvis co-founded the International Boys’ Schools Coalition with the goal of celebrating the lives and education of boys. The spirit of these two experienced school leaders and master teachers continues to inspire the work of the IBSC. The IBSC Board of Trustees created this award to honor educators whose selfless service furthers best practices in boys’ education and advances the professional development of boys' educators.

Selection Criteria

  • Any IBSC member-school employee who has faithfully offered transformational service to the IBSC for at least two years is eligible.
  • We strive to nominate and award those who serve in support roles rather than senior administrators.
  • IBSC trustees will review three finalists from the nominations submitted by the IBSC membership-at-large. Trustees will select the awardee and recognize this honoree at the 2017 IBSC Annual Conference in June.

Submit a Nomination

Deadline: Friday, 31 March 2017

Past Award Recipients

2016 Brad Adams


In recognition of his outstanding work and long-time partnership with the IBSC, the 2016 IBSC Hawley-Jarvis Award was presented to Brad Adams at the 2016 IBSC Annual Conference in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. Brad was educated in Canada and the United Kingdom. He began his school career at Upper Canada College (UCC) in Toronto as a teacher of history and English, a boarding housemaster, a director in the Little Theatre, and a hockey coach. After a stint in administration at the University of Toronto, he returned to UCC in 1992 and served as Director of Admission, then Vice Principal, and later Head of the Upper School, in addition to teaching, He became a trustee of the IBSC in 2004. From 2006 to 2014, he served as Executive Director of the IBSC. He is currently Director of Education at CIRCLE – the Centre for Innovation, Research, Creativity, and Leadership in Education, in Australia.

2015 Di Laycock


The inaugural IBSC Hawley-Jarvis Award was bestowed upon Dianne Patricia Laycock for her 10 years of masterful leadership and guidance of the IBSC Action Research Program. Di has identified and generated informed reflection and discussion of best practices in boys’ education by representative teams from more than 15 countries and, in the process, inspired educators and enriched the quality of boys’ education around the world. Di performed these duties out of a profound sense of service to the ideals of collaboration and devotion to those who know and love boys. Di Laycock’s example of servant leadership reflects the qualities of the namesakes of the award and brings great credit to her and the schools her work has enriched.

Powered by Finalsite