2019 Annual Conference logo

2019 IBSC Annual Conference

Selwyn House School

Montréal, Québec, Canada
June 26 - 29

IBSC Hawley-Jarvis Award

We invite you to nominate a colleague for the 2019 IBSC Hawley-Jarvis Award to be presented at the 2019 IBSC Annual Conference at Selwyn House School in Montréal, Québec, Canada. Submit your nomination by Friday, March 15, 2019.

Nominate a Colleague

Selection Criteria

Submit your nomination by March 15.

  • The award will be presented to an IBSC member school employee who has faithfully offered transformational service to the IBSC for at least two years.
  • We seek to nominate and award those who serve in support roles rather than senior administrators.
  • IBSC trustees will review three finalists from the nominations submitted by the IBSC membership-at-large. Trustees select the honoree and recognize this person at the IBSC Annual Conference.

History of the IBSC Hawley-Jarvis Award

In 1989, Dr. Richard Hawley, headmaster of University School (United States) in Cleveland, and Reverend Tony Jarvis, headmaster of the Roxbury Latin School (United States), met to discuss their mutual concerns about the future direction of boys’ schools. As a result they formed a group of similarly concerned leaders of boys’ schools to broaden the conversation and share ideas. Under their leadership the group founded the International Boys’ Schools Coalition (IBSC) in 1995, with the goal to celebrate the lives and education of boys. Both experienced school leaders and master teachers, Hawley and Jarvis embody the spirit of servant leadership that inspires IBSC's work. In 2015, the IBSC board of trustees created this award to honor those whose selfless service furthers best practice in boys’ education and the professional development of those who educate boys.

Nominate a Colleague