2022 IBSC Annual Conference2022 IBSC Annual Conference 

St. Mark’s School of Texas
Dallas, Texas, United States
June 26 - 29 

IBSC Hawley-Jarvis Award

Thank you to everyone who submitted a nomination for the 2022 IBSC Hawley-Jarvis Award. Please join us for the award presentation at the IBSC Annual Conference in June! We look forward to celebrating the dedication and service of the distinguished honoree.

David Armstrong 
2022 IBSC Hawley-Jarvis Award Honoree

David Armstrong

With extensive experience in education, nonprofit, and for-profit sectors, David Armstrong adeptly led IBSC as its fourth executive director until his retirement in 2021. During his tenure he catalyzed growth and membership, raised the organization's global profile, improved the quality and value of the products and services offered to members, and delivered robust revenues to ensure the future of IBSC.

Previously as headmaster of Landon School (United States) from 2004-15, Armstrong demonstrated his steadfast commitment to educating boys, especially in the area of character development, and his passionate advocacy for boys’ schools and all the individuals who serve them. 

Armstrong earned his bachelor’s from Princeton University and a J.D. from the University of Denver. Currently, he resides in La Jolla, California, with his wife Liz. They have three children and 10 grandchildren.


In 1989, Dr. Richard Hawley, headmaster of University School (United States) in Cleveland, and Reverend Tony Jarvis, headmaster of the Roxbury Latin School (United States), met to discuss their mutual concerns about the future direction of boys’ schools. As a result they formed a group of similarly concerned leaders of boys’ schools to broaden the conversation and share ideas. Under their leadership the group founded the International Boys’ Schools Coalition (IBSC) in 1995, with the goal to celebrate the lives and education of boys. Both experienced school leaders and master teachers, Hawley and Jarvis embody the spirit of servant leadership that inspires IBSC's work. In 2015, the IBSC board of trustees created this award to honor those whose selfless service furthers best practice in boys’ education and the professional development of those who educate boys.

Selection Criteria

  • The award will be given to an employee of an IBSC member school who has faithfully offered transformational service to IBSC for a period of at least two years.
  • We seek to nominate and award those who serve in support roles rather than senior administrators.
  • Selection: IBSC trustees will review three finalists among the nominees submitted by the IBSC membership at large and select the awardee for recognition at the IBSC Annual Conference.


Please contact Amy Ahart at ahart@theibsc.org with any questions.