IBSC Hawley-Jarvis Award

Thank you to everyone who submitted a nomination for the 2024 IBSC Hawley-Jarvis Award. Please join us at the IBSC Annual Conference in July, when we present this distinguished award to Laura Sabo.

Laura SaboLaura Sabo

2024 IBSC Hawley-Jarvis Award Honoree

With a professional background that includes a certification to teach English, roles dedicated to teaching adults in corporate and educational environments, and several years working as an academic technologist, Laura Sabo now serves as librarian at St. Christopher’s School (United States). There she has the pleasure of teaching boys in grades JK-5 using a learning commons model, integrating technology, library, and information literacy skills in the context of classroom curriculum. Along with nurturing a love of reading in her students, she values the many opportunities for collaboration and professional development that this role entails. A strong believer in promoting a teacher-as-researcher culture, Sabo also works with the St. Christopher’s Center for Study of Boys. In her role as a Saints research coordinator,  she supports a cross-divisional team of faculty members as they explore academic literature, engage in scholarly conversation, conduct research, and share knowledge with the school community.

Sabo first experienced the IBSC Action Research Program as a member of the 2012-13 team, completing a research project focused on creativity, technology, and boys, in which students used multimedia digital tools to create social awareness posters. In 2014, she became an IBSC Action Research advisor, and she has loved every moment of coaching her international teams of educators. She values both the wealth of information and the wonderful relationships she’s gained through the process. She is thrilled to continue supporting teacher researchers in boys’ schools around the world in the role of program coordinator.


In 1989, Dr. Richard Hawley, headmaster of University School (United States) in Cleveland, and Reverend Tony Jarvis, headmaster of the Roxbury Latin School (United States), met to discuss their mutual concerns about the future direction of boys’ schools. As a result they formed a group of similarly concerned leaders of boys’ schools to broaden the conversation and share ideas. Under their leadership the group founded the International Boys’ Schools Coalition (IBSC) in 1995, with the goal to celebrate the lives and education of boys. Both experienced school leaders and master teachers, Hawley and Jarvis embody the spirit of servant leadership that inspires IBSC's work. In 2015, the IBSC board of trustees created this award to honor those whose selfless service furthers best practice in boys’ education and the professional development of those who educate boys.

Selection Criteria

  • The award will be given to an employee of an IBSC member school who has faithfully offered transformational service to IBSC for a period of at least two years.
  • We seek to nominate and award those who serve in support roles rather than senior administrators.
  • Selection: IBSC trustees will review three finalists among the nominees submitted by the IBSC membership at large and select the awardee for recognition at the IBSC Annual Conference.


Please contact Amy Ahart at ahart@theibsc.org with any questions.