IBSC Ideas Lab

Professional Conversations for Directors of Professional Development in Boys’ Schools 

Starting February 23, 2022

 

Registration has reached full capacity for this IBSC Ideas Lab. Please check back soon for more opportunities. 

IBSC Ideas Lab invites directors of professional development and staff learning in member schools to connect virtually using the free online tool Zoom. Limited to 12 participants plus the facilitator, this IBSC Ideas Lab includes three one-hour sessions for participants to discuss relevant topics. 

Designed as an interactive exchange among colleagues, IBSC Ideas Lab engages dedicated educators who learn and grow together. Before each session, participants watch a 10-minute introduction from a global guest to jumpstart a facilitated conversation on the topic. Together we surface fresh ideas and build mutual support structures and enduring professional friendships.

Available exclusively to IBSC member schools, first-time participants who can commit to joining all three sessions get preference in registration to support the success of each small group.

Who Should Attend?

Directors of professional development and staff learning in boys’ schools

Format

IBSC Ideas Lab attendees participate in three scheduled one-hour calls using Zoom. Mike Grenier, English teacher, house master, and co-director of professional development, Eton College (United Kingdom), facilitates each session with thought-provoking input from guest presenters who contextualize each topic. 

Conversation Topics

 

Conversation 1 
Designing Worthwhile PD Programs for Boys’ Schools 
Wednesday, February 23, 3:00 PM EST, 8:00 PM GMT, 10:00 PM SAST
Thursday, February 24, 6:00 AM AEST, 7:00 AM AEDT, 9:00 AM NZST

How do you discern which development opportunities are best for the staff and faculty at your school? How do you design professional development opportunities that align with your school’s strategic plan? Getting buy-in from school leadership for professional development programs is essential. How do you present your ideas to administrators? Amid the busy school environment, how do you find time for and prioritize professional development of staff? Share best practice and tips from programs that you’ve seen work in your context. Do you value in-house programs over conferences and outside speakers? Or does a balance work better? What principles do you apply when planning PD for the school year?

Conversation 2
Turning Pedagogy and Research into PracticeWednesday, March 9, 3:00 PM EST, 8:00 PM GMT, 10:00 PM SAST
Thursday, March 10, 6:00 AM AEST, 7:00 AM AEDT, 9:00 AM NZST

How do you discern which research and pedagogy work best for your school staff to learn? How and where do you find useful literature and resources about educating boys to inform the practice of your staff and faculty? Do you collaborate with other boys’ schools to design meaningful professional development? How do you keep up to date with so much changing, both in terms of pedagogy and pastoral issues in boys’ schools? How do you develop a particular culture of pedagogy and practice in your school to reach whole-school adoption without inhibiting personal insight and practice? How do you help teachers balance the “tried and tested” pedagogies with academic innovation? 

Conversation 3
Growing and Developing Teachers in Boys’ Schools
Wednesday, March 16, 4:00 PM EDT, 8:00 PM GMT, 10:00 PM SAST
Thursday, March 17, 6:00 AM AEST, 7:00 AM AEDT, 9:00 AM NZST

How do you ensure staff growth to facilitate their career aspirations? How do you foster academic risk-taking in staff, encouraging them to try new things? How do you allow for “staff voice” and input regarding faculty needs when developing your PD programs? How do you engage those staff members who, for whatever reason, do not avail themselves of the available PD opportunities? Similarly, how do you overcome staff resistance to professional development? How do you personalize PD offerings to meet the needs of many when people are in different places of growth? How do you think about equity when spending your professional development budget? How do you make sure all your staff and faculty have equal opportunities for growth and learning?

Registration

IBSC member rate: US $150

Registration has reached full capacity for this IBSC Ideas Lab. Please check back soon for more opportunities.

Refund Policy

IBSC will refund 90% of registration fees if a written request is received two weeks prior to the class. No refunds will be made for cancellations received after this time. Schools seeking to register an alternate to replace a participant unable to attend should contact IBSC@theibsc.org.

Please note: Participants will receive detailed call information and meeting invitations after registration closes.