IBSC Ideas Lab

Professional Conversations for Senior Leaders of Boys’ Schools

This IBSC Ideas Lab has reached its full registration. Please check back for more opportunities soon.

IBSC Ideas Lab invites senior leaders of member schools to connect virtually using the free online tool Zoom. Limited to 12 participants plus the facilitator, this IBSC Ideas Lab includes three one-hour sessions for participants to discuss topics focused on boys and boys’ schools.

Designed as an interactive exchange among colleagues, IBSC Ideas Lab engages dedicated educators who learn and grow together. Each session starts with a 10-minute introduction from a global guest to jumpstart a facilitated conversation on the topic. Together we surface fresh ideas and build mutual support structures and enduring professional friendships.

Available exclusively to IBSC member schools, first-time participants who can commit to joining all three sessions get preference in registration to support the success of each small group.

Who Should Attend?

Senior leaders from member schools, including deputy heads, directors, division heads, executive committee members, and others who aspire to headship of a boys’ school

Format

IBSC Ideas Lab attendees participate in three scheduled one-hour calls using Zoom. Rod Morrison, deputy headmaster, Shore School (Australia), facilitates each conversation with thought-provoking input from guest presenters who contextualize each of the following topics.

Conversation Topics

Conversation 1
Topics Facing Senior Leaders of Boys’ Schools
Guest Presenter: Byron Hulsey, Headmaster, Woodberry Forest School (United States)
Monday, February 8, 4:00 PM EST, 9:00 PM GMT, 11:00 PM SAST
Tuesday, February 9, 8:00 AM, AEDT

What issues at your school keep you up at night and occupy your thoughts during the day? Engage with fellow senior school leaders to examine and discuss such issues as following school mission and values, considering their relevancy in today’s climate, creating a welcoming environment for boys, cultivating connection among boys, staff, and families, welcoming and acclimating new families and staff, building equity and inclusion, exploring concepts of masculinity, finding best practices to educate boys, and strengthening leadership and governance. Dive into how these vital issues impact boys and our schools.

Conversation 2
The Head and the Heart
Guest Presenter: Lester Lalla, Headmaster, St. John’s Preparatory School (South Africa)
Monday, March 15, 5:00 PM EDT, 9:00 PM GMT, 11:00 PM SAST
Tuesday, March 16, 8:00 AM, AEDT

How do you prioritize your own well-being and present an effective role model for your staff to do the same? Join leaders to discuss caring for yourself, managing stress, creating healthy cultures, practicing mindfulness, enhancing faculty wellness, and sustaining leadership energy.

Conversation 3
Write a New Narrative for Boys’ Schools
Guest Presenter: Tom Batty, Principal, Scotch College (Australia)
Tuesday, April 27, 6:00 PM EDT, 11:00 PM BST
Wednesday, April 28, 12:00 AM SAST, 8:00 AM AEST

What is the narrative for your school? Explore ways to broaden definitions of masculinity, foster belonging in boys’ schools, create safe spaces for boys in our schools, view success in a modern context, marry tradition with the demands of modern society, and establish boys’ schools as places of purpose.

Read more about the guest presenters.

Registration

IBSC member rate: $150 
This session of IBSC Ideas has reached full registration. Please check for more opportunities soon.

Refund Policy

IBSC will refund 90% of registration fees if a written request is received two weeks prior to the class. No refunds will be made for cancellations received after this time. Schools seeking to register an alternate to replace a participant unable to attend should contact IBSC@theibsc.org.

Please note: Participants will receive detailed call information and meeting invitations after registration closes.