IBSC Ideas Lab

Professional Conversations for Teachers of Color in Boys’ Schools


This IBSC Ideas Lab has reached its full registration. Please check back for more opportunities soon.

IBSC Ideas Lab invites teachers of color in member schools to connect virtually using the free online tool Zoom. Limited to 12 participants plus the facilitator, this IBSC Ideas Lab includes three one-hour sessions for participants to discuss relevant topics.

Designed as an interactive exchange among colleagues, IBSC Ideas Lab engages dedicated educators who learn and grow together. Each session starts with a 10-minute introduction from a global guest to jumpstart a facilitated conversation on the topic. Together we surface fresh ideas and build mutual support structures and enduring professional friendships.

Available exclusively to IBSC member schools, first-time participants who can commit to joining all three sessions get preference in registration to support the success of each small group.

Who Should Attend?

Teachers and staff of color in IBSC member schools

Format

IBSC Ideas Lab attendees participate in three scheduled one-hour calls using Zoom. Jack Pannell, founder and executive director of Baltimore Collegiate School for Boys (United States), facilitates each session with thought-provoking input from guest presenters who contextualize each topic. 

Conversation Topics

 

Conversation 1
Thriving or Surviving? 
Guest Presenters: Caleb Collins and Archie Tyson
Thursday, March 4, 4:00 PM EST, 9:00 PM GMT, 11:00 PM SAST
Friday, March 5, 8:00 AM AEDT

Boys’ schools worldwide are engaging in the global dialogue about antiracism, inclusion, equity, and justice. Are you thriving or simply surviving these conversations at your school? Join educators of color in boys’ schools to share personal stories and discuss where our schools are in this work.

Conversation 2
Practicing Self-Care
Guest Presenter: Lester Lalla
Tuesday, April 13, 4:00 PM EDT, 9:00 PM BST, 10:00 PM SAST
Wednesday, April 14, 6:00 AM
AEST

With newsfeeds saturated with violence and schools addressing past incidents of racism as we develop new programs, curricula, and initiatives focused on improving the opportunities for boys and faculty of color, how are you taking care of yourself as a person of color? Join colleagues to discuss self-care, managing stress, creating healthy cultures, practicing mindfulness, and sustaining energy as a teacher, as schools discuss antiracism, equity, inclusion, and justice.

Conversation 3
Real Talk 
Guest Presenter: Kim Simons-Thebe
Monday May 3, 4:00 PM EDT, 9:00 PM BST, 10:00 PM SAST
Tuesday, May 4, 6:00 AM
AEST

Join global colleagues to discuss the challenges people of color face in boys’ schools. Support and encourage each other as we build on our previous conversations, speak about common barriers people of color face each day in boys’ schools, and discuss how to make a positive impact on a boys’ school community.

Read more about the guest presenters.

Registration

IBSC member rate: $150

Refund Policy

IBSC will refund 90% of registration fees if a written request is received two weeks prior to the class. No refunds will be made for cancellations received after this time. Schools seeking to register an alternate to replace a participant unable to attend should contact IBSC@theibsc.org.

Please note: Participants will receive detailed call information and meeting invitations after registration closes.