2017 Annual Conference logo

2017 IBSC Annual Conference

The Boys' Latin School of Maryland
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
25 – 28 June 2017

Review Conference Program Booklet (9 MB pdf)

IBSC Hawley-Jarvis Award

We presented the 2017 IBSC Hawley-Jarvis Award to David Anderson at the 2017 IBSC Annual Conference in Baltimore, Maryland, United State hosted by The Boys' Latin School of Maryland.

2017 Honoree

Watch the video of the award presentation.

David AndersonDavid Anderson

Since 1980, David Anderson has devoted himself to educating boys in a single-sex environment at Shore School (Australia). A geography teacher, Anderson served as Senior Boarding Housemaster and Boarding Housemaster for 25 years, and on the School Executive for 15 years.

In 1995, he led his first IBSC Annual Conference workshop, continuing to present workshops at 17 more conferences! Anderson hosted the 10th Coalition Annual Conference at Shore School in 2003 and served on the IBSC Board of Trustees 2003-13, including three years as Vice President Australasia.

Anderson has promoted boys’ education across Australia and globally. He has conducted four IBSC Regional Conferences at Shore School, introduced many international guest speakers to member schools throughout Australia and New Zealand, and boosted IBSC membership.

He strongly believes in the broad experiences boys can gain in a single-sex environment in and out of the classroom. Anderson has actively engaged in rugby, cricket, and rowing. For boys to enjoy the classroom, he believes teachers must prepare well, enjoy a sense of humour, and positively recognize individual boys.

Anderson thanks his wife Gail and their three sons Adam, Matthew, and James for their constant, unwavering support throughout his rich career.

History of the IBSC Hawley-Jarvis Award

In 1995, Dr. Richard Hawley and Reverend Tony Jarvis co-founded the International Boys’ Schools Coalition with the goal of celebrating the lives and education of boys. The spirit of these two experienced school leaders and master teachers continues to inspire the work of the IBSC. The IBSC Board of Trustees created this award to honor educators whose selfless service furthers best practices in boys’ education and advances the professional development of boys' educators.

Selection Criteria

The deadline for 2017 nominations has passed. We will solicit nominations for the 2018 award later this year.

  • Any IBSC member school employee who has faithfully offered transformational service to the IBSC for at least two years is eligible.
  • We strive to nominate and award those who serve in support roles rather than senior administrators.
  • IBSC trustees will review three finalists from the nominations submitted by the IBSC membership-at-large. Trustees select the honoree and recognize this person at the IBSC Annual Conference.

Past Award Recipients